Three to contest by-election

Three to contest by-election

Courtney Mazzini, Fiona Lowe and Dean Strautins

Three candidates will contest the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale’s by-election next month.

Courtney Mazzini, Dean Strautins, and Fiona Lowe have all nominated, with each uniquely qualified for the job and each maintaining an active role in the community.

The extraordinary election will be held on Saturday, March 23, to fill the vacancy in the North Ward left by the election of former North Ward councillor Rob Coales to shire president.

The winning candidate will serve the remainder of the sitting term until the next ordinary election in 2025.

The by-election next month will be conducted via a postal ballot; every registered voter in the North Ward will start to receive their ballots in their mailboxes shortly.

North Ward residents who do not receive their postal ballot before election can obtain one through the shire offices in Mundijong during business hours or on election day between 8am – 6pm at the Community Recreation Centre at 8 Mead St, Byford.