Spectacular rally drivers

Spectacular rally drivers

Clubman Cup Series second place winner Andrew Percival and Jim Pearce’s 1997 Honda Civic.

On Saturday afternoon the Jarrahdale state forest played host to the final round of the WA State Rally Championships.

Thirty rally cars raced in three stages that tested the skills of both driver and co-driver.

Teams competed against the clock on narrow dirty roads covered in ball bearing gravel.

A total distance of 76-kilometers was run with the service and re-group held at the Jarrahdale Oval.

Between each special stage the service area allowed for spectators to view the cars up close.

Owner of Car Nine Neil Trethowen and Seville Grove resident Ashleigh Turtan, 17, won the two-wheel drive challenge.

The Clubman Cup Series was won by Car 13, a 1971 Datsun 1200 coupe driven by Armadale resident Julian Wright and co-driver Ian De Boer.

Second place went to Thornlie resident Andrew Percival and co driver Jim Pearce from Huntingdale in their 1997 Honda Civic.

– Shane Cassidy


Previous articleJunk dumped on RSL
Next articleA rising star