Budding young writers rewarded

Budding young writers rewarded

The winners of the Young Writers’ Awards were announced on Friday, September 3.

School-aged writers from across the City of Armadale were recognised at a presentation for the winners of the Young Writers’ Awards on Friday, September 3.

The young writers, ranging from school years 3 to 12, were recognised for their creativity, imagination, and writing ability across a variety of written entries.

The competition ran for the month of June with a competitive 231 entries received, with 15 award recipients.

City of Armadale Mayor Ruth Butterfield presented the awards at a ceremony attended by the judges, guest speaker and author Kate McCaffrey, the award winners, and their families.

“This is the eleventh year the city has run The Young Writers’ Award which recognises and encourages our local young writers,” Ms Butterfield said.

“Telling stories is a great way for students to explore their feelings and views about the world around them.

“Writing can help process events which impact the entire world, like the current pandemic.”

“The award acknowledges and encourages our budding young writers in their creative expression and provides them with an opportunity to gain feedback from judges and mentors as part of the competition process.”

This year, prospective entrants were treated to free writing workshops from authors Kate McCaffrey, Steve Heron, and Mark Greenwood.

Prizes included cash and book vouchers.

Winners also received a trophy and certificate.

Kyra Bredenhof’s story, Finlay’s Silence was considered Best Overall and was also awarded first place in years 9 and 10.

Kyra, a student at John Calvin Christian College was previously awarded third place in the year seven and eight Category in 2018.

Kyra’s name is also engraved on the Perpetual Armadale Young Writers’ Awards Trophy.

Winning stories from this year’s competition are available to read in an anthology available for loan at the City of Armadale Libraries, and for viewing on the library website.