Armadale set up match with excellent first day

Armadale set up match with excellent first day

Club Legend, Ainsley Noronha, bowls to a Phoenix batsman.

Armadale’s Fifth Grade had a good start in their match against Phoenix after winning the toss and bowling.

Rhys Mackie was on fire from the start (2-7 from 14 overs), before Taymon McLaughlin (3-14) and Rhys Jones (3-24) ran through them as Phoenix were rolled for 106. In a magnificent all round bowling effort, eight bowlers were used and only had 106 scored off them in 64 overs.

Rhys Mackie fires one down the pitch

Seventh Grade

Seventh Grade took on Kardinya who batted first after winning the toss. Kardinya started well to reach 0-68 before Joel Elsley (2-19) got things going. Cam Gibb then stepped up and bowled a great spell (3-27) and Brett Mauer snared 2-24 as Kardinya reached 8-201.

One Day B

One Day B played Cockburn and batted first after winning the coin flip. Muhammad Arshad (29) played a lone hand as Armadale were dismissed for 88. In reply Cockburn cruised past the total for the loss of no wickets.

One Day C

One Day C played Roleystone who were sent into bat. It didn’t seem to be the correct move as Roleystone cruised to 1-68 early doors. Leemon Thomas (3-13), Shameem Chakkittammal (2-20) and Basil Mathai (2-22) all combined well however, to dismiss Roleystone for 113. In reply Armadale cantered home, reaching 5-247. Opener Sujit Pankajakshan (52) batted well at the top, before Shameem Chakkittammal (89 from 59 balls, with 8 sixes) smashed them everywhere.

 One Day D

One Day D played Baldivis, won the toss and batted first. After a bad start John Parnabas (27) and Dhanasekar Srinivasan (36no) steadied the ship as Armadale finished on 7-120. In reply Baldivis finished on 168. Narendeepak Gandhi was the pick of the bowlers with 4-30, while Sathish Manogaran (2-18) also bowled well.

One Day G

One Day G played Jandakot who won the toss and sent Armadale in. Paul Edwards (25) batted well at the top, while 6 others scored more than 8, before Warren Francis shipped in with a handy 22no at the end to see Armadale to 7-154. In reply Dean Yetton (3-13), Kannan Ramasamy (2-19) and Warren Francis (2-37) had Jandakot on the ropes at 6-37 and 7-58, before a lone Jandakot batsmen flayed the attack. Armadale steadied and dismissed Jandakot for 134.

One Day H

One Day H played Canning Vale who won the toss and bowled first. Opener Bijoy Tharian (37) was the rock at the top of the order, with Brett Marks and Umesh Embari chipping in with 13 apiece to see Armadale to 8-128. In reply a beautiful team effort saw Canning Vale restricted to 9-100. Ryan Eddington was the star, snaring 3-16, while Nikhil Noronha (2-20) and Todd King (2-21) also bowled well.

Under 17s

The Under 17s took on the top team Willetton Red, and bowled first after winning the toss. Willetton started well and were cruising at 1-71 before Armadale fought back, Tanuj Azad snared 2-15, while Ben Hunt, Chetan Kalia, Jayden McClure and Rajzhan D’Sylva all bowled well to stem the flow as Willetton finished on 6-141. In reply Alen Paul started well at the top before a flurry of wickets. Rathish Karthikeyan (22) and Rajzhan D’Sylva (20) then batted well to retire, but the wickets kept falling thereafter. In the end Armadale were dismissed for 96.

Photographs – Richard Polden.

Rhys Mackie, was happy with his first wicket for the day.